Sanitation Department

The Sanitation Crew is responsible for the Town’s refuse and mandatory recyclable collection. For purposes of refuse and recycling collection, the Town is divided into two zones.  Refuse collection in a given zone is done once a week and recycling once a week.  The Town instituted mandatory curb-side separation of recyclables in April of 1992 and since that time has reduced its general refuse stream by nearly 40%. For information regarding when collection is done in your area, and what items must be recycled, please contact Public Works at 410-641-4001 or email with any questions.

Street Department

The Street Department is responsible for the maintenance of Town-owned streets, the grounds and equipment in the three public park areas owned by the Town with the direction of the Berlin Parks Commission.